Lord Drayson, the UK's Minister for Science and Technology, as well as being a Le Mans team owner and driver in his own right, is to give the keynote speech at this year's World Motorsport Symposium.

This two-day event, which is being held at Oxford Brookes University on 19/20 November, has again attracted speakers of the highest quality.

The Race Engine Day is being chaired by Ulrich Baretzky, Head of Engine Technology at Audi Sport, who has described the event, now in its fifth year, as "having a voice which is now heard throughout the motorsport industry, and one which carries a strong social and environmental message."

The line-up of speakers and panelists on that day includes:

  • Lord Drayson, Minister for Science and Innovation and team owner and driver (keynote speaker)
  • Bruce Crawley, Motorsport Technology Manager, ExxonMobil Lubricants
  • Jason Hill, Chief Engineer, Aston Martin Racing/Prodrive
  • Thomas Laudenbach, Head of Motorsport Development, Porsche
  • Pete May, Race Systems Development Engineer, Zytek Engineering
  • Tony Purnell, FIA Technical Consultant
  • Wolfgang Warnecke, Global Manager Fuels Technology, Shell Global Solutions
  • Donatus Wichelhaus, Head of Engine Development, Volkswagen Motorsport
  • Bruce Wood, Technical Director, Cosworth Racing

The line-up of speakers and panelists on the Aerodynamics/Vehicle Dynamics Day, which once again will be chaired by John Iley, the former Head of Aerodynamics at Scuderia Ferrari, includes:

  • Ben Evans, Bloodhound SSC
  • David Floury, Technical Director, ORECA
  • Joe Katz, Professor at San Diego State University and author of "Racecar Aerodynamics"
  • Diandra Leslie-Pelecky, Professor at the University of Texas at Dallas and author of "The Physics of NASCAR"
  • Peter Prodromou, Chief Aerodynamicist, Red Bull Racing
  • Sergio Rinland, Technical Director, Epsilon Euskadi
  • Claude Rouelle, President of OptimumG
  • Willem Toet, Head of Aerodynamics, BMW Sauber F1
  • Dr Robin Tuluie, Head of Research and Development, Renault F1
  • Dialma Zinelli, Chief Aerodynamicist, Dallara Automobili

At the popular networking dinner on 19 November at Eynsham Hall, awards will be given for the Race Engine Designer of the Day, the Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year and the Most Innovative New Motorsport of the Year.

Nominations for the Race Engine Designer of the Year:

  • Ulrich BARETZKY, Audi Sport
  • François COUDRAIN, Peugeot Sport
  • Jason HILL, Aston Martin Racing
  • John MANCHESTER/Peter MAY, Zytek Engineering
  • Donatus WICHELHAUS, Volkswagen Motorsport

Nominations for the Dino Toso award for the Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year:

  • Loic BIGOIS, Brawn GP
  • Guillaume CATTELANI, Peugeot Sport
  • Simon PHILLIPS, Force India F1
  • Peter PRODROMOU, Red Bull Racing
  • Bill RILEY, Riley Technologies

Nominations for the Most Innovative New Motorsport Product of the Year:

  • Aeristech - hybrid turbocharger
  • AVL - Adaptive Mounting System
  • Deutsch - ASDD System 30 electrical connectors
  • Kinsler - Tough Pump
  • McLaren Electronic Systems - Advanced Data System
  • Mezzo Technologies - Micro-channel heat exchangers
  • Millers Oils - Nanotechnology transmission oils
  • Oxeon Textreme - Tape weaving technology
  • rFactor Pro - Driver-in-the-loop simulator
  • Sulzer Metco - SUMEBore coating process
  • Tyre Technology - Black Frequency system
  • Williams Hybrid Power - Flywheel storage system

Further information on how to book tickets for the World Motorsport Symposium or the Awards Dinner can be found on, or by
Maryam Lamond